photo of McDonald Hall on the MSUB university campus
Officers of the Administration

Officers of the Administration

Interim Chancellor

Dr. Rolf Groseth - 657-2300

Provost/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Dr. Melinda Arnold - 657-2204

Vice Chancellor for Administrative Affairs

Ms. Susan Simmers - 657-2155

Vice Chancellor for Student Access & Success

Dr. Kimberly Hayworth - 657-2307

Dean of Student Engagement

Ms. Kathy Kotecki - 657-1660

Dean, College of Health Professions and Science

Dr. Kurt Toenjes - 896-5831

Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

Dr. Christine Shearer - 657-2177

Dean, College of Business

Dr. Elaine Labach - 657-2213

Dean, College of Education

Dr. Robert Nava - 657-2286

Dean, City College

Dr. Vicki Trier - 247-3009

Associate Dean, City College

Dr. Florence Garcia - 247-3010

Director-Workforce Training/Development

Ms. Lisa Skriner - 247-3055

Director-International Studies & Outreach

Dr. Paul Foster - 657-1705

Director-Library Services

Ms. Darlene Hert - 657-1655

Director-Honors Program

Dr. David Craig - 657-2908

Director Acting-eLearning

Dr. Sue Balter-Reitz - 657-2214

Director-Healthcare Educational Outreach

Dr. John Dorr - 896-5832

Chief Information Officer

Mr. Brett Weisz - 657-5750


Colleges & Departments

College of Health Professions and Science

Dr. Kurt Toenjes, Acting Dean  - 896-5841

Department of Health Care Services

Ms. Becky Anglin, MSN - 896-5848

Department of Health & Human Performance

Dr. Suzette Nynas - 57-2351

Department of Rehabilitation & Human Services

Dr. Thomas Dell - 896-5837

College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

Dr. Christine Shearer, Dean - 657-2177

Department of Art

Dr. Patricia Vettel-Becker - 657-2980

Department of Biological & Physical Sciences

Dr. Carl Castles - 657-2014

Department of Communication &Theatre

Dr. Sam Boerboom - 657-2962

Department of English, Philosophy & Modern Languages

Dr. Rachel Schaffer - 657-2954

Department of History

Dr. Keith Edgerton - 657-2895

Department of Mathematics

Dr. Mark Jacobson - 657-2203

Department of Music,

Dr. Douglas Nagel - 657-2048

Dr. Mark Fenderson - 657-2343

Department of Social Sciences & Cultural Studies

Department of Psychology

Dr. Stephen Eliason -  657-2998     

Dr. Matthew McMullen - 657-2248

College of Education

Dr. Robert Nava, Dean - 657-2286

Department of Educational Theory & Practice With Programs in Elementary Education, Special
Education, Counseling, Reading & Early Childhood
Dr. Cindy Dell - 657-2034

College of Business

Dr. Elaine Labach, Dean - 657-2213

Department of Business Administration
Dr. A.J. Otjen - 657-1653

City College

Dr. Vicki Trier, Dean - 247-3009

Business, Construction, Energy Technology
Mr. Vern Gagnon - 247-3043

Computer Systems Technology
Mr. Craig McKenzie - 247-3080

General Education
Mr. Lance Mouser - 247-3087

Nursing, Health & Public Safety
Mr. Lonnie Schrag - 247-3074

Ms. Susan Floyd - 247-3037

Transportation, Welding & Technology
Ms. Kat Pfau - 247-3044

Special Areas

Academic Success Center

Dr. Stephen Foggett - 657-1714

 Admissions & Records

Dr. Cheri Johannes - 657-2880

Advising & Career Services

Dr. Becky Lyons - 896-5829

Director of Campus Store

Mr. Ed Brown - 247-3046

Director of Business Services

Ms. Barb Shafer - 657-1710

Director (Interim) for the Center for Engagement

Ms. Brandee Soens - 896-5998

Director for Native American Achievement Center

Mr. Joseph McGeshick - 657-2144

Director for Veterans Upward Bound

Ms. Lori Borth  -657-2026

Disability Support Services

Ms. Trudy Carey - 657-2283

E-Learning, Acting Director

Dr. Sue Balter-Reitz 657-2214

Facilities Services Director

Mr. Christopher Eagan - 657-2197

Financial Aid & Scholarships 

Director (Interim) Ms. Kalie Porter - 657-2188

Graduate Studies

Dr. Jana Marcette 657-2053

Grants & Sponsored Programs

Ms. Cindy Bell - 657-2364

Housing & Residential Life

Mr. Aaron Like - 657-2376

Human Resources Director

Ms Jody Stahl 657-2117

Information Technology

Mr. Brett Weisz 247-5701

MSU Billings ID Cards

Ms. Janice Ouldhouse - 657-2023


Ms. Jackie Ellsbury - 657-1777

Rimrock Hall

Ms. Elizabeth Dobson - 657-2366

Student Health Services Director

Ms. Darla Tyler-McSherry 657-2153

Student Support Services Director/TRiO

Ms. Laura Gittings-Carlson - 657-1668

University Police

Mr. Denis Otterness - 657-2901

University Communications & Marketing & Communications 657-2266

Rimrock Hall Director

Ms. Elizabeth Dobson 657-2366

International Studies Director

Dr. Paul Foster 247-5785

»» Montana State University Billings 2016-2017 Fact Book

This document provides additional background information as well as an organizational chart developed January 23, 2017.

Additional Information

Montana State University Billings, like most colleges and universities, is organized to provide efficient and effective leadership of the academic programs.  As a member of the part-time faculty, you will work with the following:

A Mentor:  A faculty member from the College and your academic department will be identified as a “mentor” to assist in acclimating you to accepted faculty procedures and processes at Montana State University Billings.  Mentors will share with you agendas and minutes from the College and your academic department.  This mentor might be your department chair or another experienced instructor from your department.

Department Chair: The Chair of the academic department is responsible for the overall quality of the educational program, and is the immediate supervisor.  The Chair is responsible for creating an academic climate in which the part-time faculty member is able to teach and perform well.  (S)He will work closely on all aspects of teaching and will help with administrative functions, payroll, supplies and materials. The Department Chair often reviews faculty syllabi, coordinates workshop/training sessions, and is the “go-to” person for instructors.

Dean:  The Dean is the chief academic officer of the College.  Typically the Dean works directly with the Department Chairs; however, because this is a relatively small University community, the Dean is easily accessible throughout the semester.

Provost & Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs:  The Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs is the chief academic officer for the University.  The Provost is responsible for all aspects of the academic programs and is concerned with the quality of teaching on campus.